How to find your level as a tango dancer.

To make sure that you really get something out of the workshops you register for it is important that you choose a level that fits your dance experience. Please use the following as guidance to find out which level best describes you. You should be aware that if you join a team that you do not have level to, you may risk that you will not get any of the teaching as the content of the teaching will correspond to the level stated in the description.

Level 1 - Beginner

Beginner. You have no previous experience of tango - or you have taken  part in 1 -2 beginner classes/tango introductions. 

Level 2 - Intermediate

Intermediate. You have danced 1 - 2 times a week for 6 months - 2 years. You have worked with basic techniques and feel comfortable with them. 

Level 3 - Experienced

Experienced. You regularly take part in different milongas. Your basic technique is good, and you have worked with different figures and steps. You also have some experience with more advanced elements of the dance, both in open and closed embrace. You find it quite natural to dance in different rhythms and to different orchestras. You have danced regularly 1-2 times a week for at least 3 - 4 years. 

Level 4 - Advanced

Advanced. You are a competent dancer, and it feels quite natural to dance tango, milonga and tango vals. Your balance and technique are good and you feel quite at home in the dance in both open and closed embrace. You enjoy the dance, even on a tightly packed dance floor, and you naturally observe tango’s etiquette while on the floor. You have taken part in several tango festivals and have had lessons with teacher of both national and international standard. You have danced tango regularly 1 -2 times a week for at least 5 years.